16th Winter Conference
on Medicinal & Bioorganic Chemistry

January 29th - February 2nd 2023

Steamboat Springs Resort, Colorado


Sunday, January 29th 2023

Drug Hunting

Program Chair: Klemens Hoegenauer, Novartis

Kentaro Futatsugi Pfizer

Title to be confirmed

Woody Sherman Roivant

Title to be confirmed

Jason Shields AstraZeneca

Title to be confirmed

Ian M. Bell Merck

Drug Hunter Award:

CGRP Receptor Antagonists for the Treatment of Migraine

Networking Session

Welcome Reception

Monday, January 30th 2023

Enabling Methodology and Technology

Program Chair: Iulia Strambeanu, Janssen

David Leitch University of Victoria

Mapping Chemical Space via High-throughput Experimentation: New Tools, New Reactions, and New Bicyclic Scaffolds

Song Lin Cornell

New Strategies for Redox Catalysis

Amanda Dombrowski AbbVie

Enabling and Accelerating Drug Discovery with High Throughput Chemistry

Liana Allen Vertex

Impact of High Throughput Experimentation in Medicinal Chemistry at Vertex; from Microscale to Multigram

Kohki Nakafuku Janssen

Discovery of Small Molecule Inhibitors Using a Modern Screening Paradigm and High Throughput Chemistry

Antivirals and Pandemic Diseases, Past, Present and Future

Program Chair: John McCauley, Merck

Jamie Tuttle Pfizer

Title to be confirmed

Patrick Fier Merck

Title to be confirmed

Phil Sanderson NIH

Title to be confirmed

Uwe Schoenbeck Pfizer Inc.

Title to be confirmed

Tuesday, January 31st 2023


Program Chair: Niyi Fadeyi, InduPro

Christopher am Ende Pfizer Inc.

Title to be confirmed

Emma Grant GlaxoSmithKline

Reactive Fragments in Covalent Drug Discovery

Rob Oslund InduPro Therapeutics

Title to be confirmed

Francisco Garcia Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research

Title to be confirmed

General Session: Synthesis and Med Chem

Program Chair: Amy Dounay, Colorado College

Networking Session


Wednesday, February 1st 2023

Beyond Ro5 and Novel Modalities

Program Chair: Lou Chupak, Bristol Myers Squibb

Dave Degoey AbbVie

Title to be confirmed

Patrizio Mattei Roche

Title to be confirmed

MacMillan Alumni Session: Topics in Medicinal and Synthetic Chemistry

Program Chair: Mike VanHyest, GSK

Raphaelle Berger Merck

Discovery of MK-6158 an oral, once daily, Soluble Guanylate Cyclase (sGC) Stimulator for the treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension

Andrew Capacci Biogen

Discovery of Selective, CNS-Penetrant Covalent Inhibitors of Bruton’s Tyrosine Kinase for the Treatment of Multiple Sclerosis

Vy Dong UCI

Choose Your Own Adventure in Metal-Hydride Catalysis

Robert M. Williams' Memorial KEYNOTE LECTURE

Program Chair: Mike VanHeyest, GSK

2021 Nobel Laureate David W.C. MacMillan Princeton University

The Development of Asymmetric Organocatalysis and Metallaphotoredox

Networking Session

Robert M. Williams' Memorial RECEPTION

Thursday, February 2nd 2023

Late Breaking Stories and 1st Disclosures

Program Chair: Dr Rebecca Gallego, Pfizer

Rob Kania Kinnate

Title to be confirmed

Manuel Ruiz Merck

Potent Dual Plasmepsin IX/X Inhibitors towards the Treatment of Malaria

Nicolas Soldermann Novartis

Title to be confirmed

Networking Session

Conference Dinner - Top of the Gondola

Media Sponsors

Bronze sponsors

Lithium sponsors